Whatever Happened to “Vintage” Social Media and Recruiting?

 

vintage-social-media-620x620

(Image via Edudemic)

 

I enjoyed the opportunity to meet with Teacher Candidates last month {Teaching in Public Schools???}.

My presentation included a number of tweets and also links to blog posts which I thought might be useful to illustrate the points I wanted to make and as a resource afterwards.  During a Q & A period one student asked if he would be at a disadvantage when applying for jobs because he wasn’t on Twitter.  Another asked who to follow to increase the chances of getting a job.

In retrospect, perhaps I needed to frame my presentation differently.

 

Is Twitter use essential/required of applicants to our District?

No.

Do we use social media for recruiting?

A little.

Is an understanding of and a facility with technology expected of our new teacher applicants?

Absolutely.

 

For those drawn to social media, each person has their own reasons for being engaged through the use of technology.  In the education world, Twitter and blogs have become very popular.

Twitter for me has become crucial for professional development in staying connected to and current with teaching and learning conversations.  In HR, my interactions around teaching and learning are mostly connected to the hiring process and teacher evaluation.  In the world of hiring, how do I determine what constitutes a great teacher ready to work with today’s students?  How do I support my school-based colleagues in evaluating teacher competence above and beyond explaining the Collective Agreement processes?

 

 

A by-product of using social media for my own learning is also the connections initiated by teacher candidates.  It is interesting to get a sense of their journeys during their university education classes and practicums.

I am looking forward to seeing the experiences and growth of these teacher candidates.  Maybe these social media connections are their foot in the door as they prepare for the application process.  Perhaps this is an aspect of networking I discussed in the presentation. So, maybe there is an advantage for some teacher candidates in making that initial connection.

However, in the end, we’re still looking to hire the best teachers {Don’t Wait for Superman}, and there are many different ways of demonstrating excellence just as we have several different ways to assess it.

Is social media one of my go-to tools for recruiting?

I don’t know yet.

 

I still like face-to-face interactions.

 

But I am paying attention to my new connections.

 

While technology is not my world by nature, I am surprised to the extent it has become woven into my day to day work and personal life.  I can see how easy it would be for the time spent on social media to become all encompassing.

 

I appreciate the perspective this video provides.

 

How connected are we wanting to be?

 

 

 

 

vine (2)linkedin (2)tumblr (2)appstore (2)googleplus (2)etsy (2)  (Vintage)

 

 

What do you think?

